Internship Programs

  • Ecological Restoration Field Skills (ENV S 95)

     

    Join us in restoring UCSB campus natural areas for local plants and wildlife through an internship with CCBER. Classes are currently offered during the Fall, Winter and Spring quarters. Students will gain valuable hands-on field experience restoring native wetland, coastal sage scrub, grassland, and oak woodland habitats. Learn about local plants and animals, earn course credit, meet environmental professionals in your community, and enjoy a beautiful outdoor working environment!

    Each week throughout the quarter will focus on a specific restoration theme. Students will have the opportunity to visit multiple restoration sites, gain hands-on experience and learn from all the CCBER staff throughout the quarter. Below are the topics, schedule, and meeting locations.

  • Course Requirements

    The Ecological Restoration Field Skills Course is open to all academic levels and majors. Add codes from the instructor are required.

    All interns must complete the following for 1 unit of credit:
    3 hours of field work/week
    Compile a plant collection notebook and a restoration journal throughout the quarter

    For those who are enrolled in the class, please visit GauchoSpace for the course syllabus and updates:  https://gauchospace.ucsb.edu/

  • CCBER has multiple internship and volunteer opportunities. We offer this formal restoration course approved for credit with UCSB, mentored independent research internships and collections curation internships.

  • Spring 2013 Schedule

    Date Topic Instructor Contact Location
    April 1-5 Informational Meeting Bryan Apple apple@ccber.ucsb.edu 1013 Harder South/CCBER Classroom
    April 8-12 Field Work Day Darwin Richardson drichardson@ccber.ucsb.edu West Depressions
    April 15-19 Research/Project Design Lisa Stratton  stratton@ccber.ucsb.edu  Parking Lot 5
    April 22-26 Plant Propagation Ryan Lippitt rlippitt@ccber.ucsb.edu Greenhouse
    April 29-May 3 Plant Id/Sourcing Rachel Davis alford@ccber.ucsb.edu Harder South/CCBER Library
    May 6-10 Site Management/Monitoring Andy Lanes lanes@ccber.ucsb.edu Manzanita Village
    May 13-17 Ethnobotany Wayne Chapman chapman@ccber.ucsb.edu Greenhouse
    May 20-24 Local Birds/Animals Dave Harris dharris@ccber.ucsb.edu South Parcel
    May 27-31  Site Preparation/Planning Darwin Richardson drichardson@ccber.ucsb.edu Parking Lot 12 near Mosher
    June 3-7 Water Quality Bryan Apple apple@ccber.ucsb.edu South Parcel

  • Registering for Internships

    Sign up through your appropriate departmental contact in order to receive course credit for your internship.

  • References and Resources

     
    • An introduction to using native plants in restoration projects
    • Society for Ecological Restoration
    • CalPhotos
    • The Jepson Manual of Higher California Plants (Hickman)- Key to all plants of California
    • A Flora of the Santa Barbara Region (Clif Smith) - Guide to the plants of Santa Barbara

  • For More Information

    Please contact the Intern Coordinator (interncoordinator@ccber.ucsb.edu) to find out more information about our internship program.

  • Departmental Contacts

    Department Advisor E-mail
    CCS Leslie Campbell campbell@ccs.ucsb.edu
    EEMB Mike Tucker mike.tucker@lifesci.ucsb.edu
    ES Eric Zimmerman zimmerman@es.ucsb.edu
    GEOG Kathy Davis grad_assistant@geog.ucsb.edu